Throwing A Party On A Budget

Let me tell you, the budget part is against my will, it’s because of my husband, but I understand he has to keep me grounded.

I cannnnnnnoottttttt for the life of me believe that I had to start planning my little boys first birthday party already. I feel so bittersweet, so many emotions. I miss having my sweet little newborn, but let me tell you, I have the sweetest, smartest little boy. I can’t wait to see what the next year holds for us, as a family!

Anyways, so, cue the drum roll……the theme of Greyson’s First Birthday will be………….

Daniel Tiger!!! 

poster-daniel-tigers

At first, we wanted to do a Disney/Mickey themed birthday, but there will be plenty of time for that in the future.

Honestly, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood is the only thing and show that he watches and will pay attention to. He will hear the theme song and start smiling and laughing right away! So, Daniel Tiger it is!

Now, we already rented a little community center, because that’s going to be one of the most difficult things about having a March Baby. March is soon unpredictable on the East Coast. You can have snow, you can have rain, you can have summer weather, it varies from year to year. To be on the safe side, we ended up renting a place so it can be inside. Nowwwww the other problem is that his birthday is the Monday after Easter. So, we can’t have his birthday the weekend of his birthday, so we’re doing it the following weekend!

I’m planning on doing a lot of DIY stuff, as far as decorations, food, and favors!

Pinterest is a girl’s best friend! So, I’m getting ready to make this party Grrrrriffic! (A Daniel Tiger reference, most moms will understand that).

I am also a huge Etsy fan to buy from, but I use it for ideas as well.

To save money, my mom will be helping me make a birthday outfit for our little guy, with a Daniel Tiger embroidered on it, thank god for having a quilter for a mom! Those go for $20 and more on Etsy, so we will be saving money by doing that!

I intend on figuring out a lunch menu and having little desserts in addition to cake.

Still working on adult favors, but I have special ones for the little ones that will be at the party.

I think it’s all about how open and creative you are. If you are willing to try crafts, do fun stuff, and use your imagination, I think you can make anything work.

I intend on trying numerous pinterest/Etsy ideas and scoping out our party scene beforehand to make sure everything will work!

So, let’s get this party started!!!

Leave a comment